Home › Instant Puzzle Generator vs Book Bolt

Instant Puzzle Generator vs Book Bolt

One is a $47 one-time purchase, the other a subscription from $19.99 a month. They are not really competing for the same job, and the sticker price is the least useful thing to compare them on. Everything below was read on the vendors’ own pages on 10 September 2026 and is linked to its source.

Disclosure: we make a third tool, PuzzleBindery, and it appears at the bottom of this page. We have kept it out of the head-to-head above so you can compare those two on their own terms, and every claim about either is sourced to the vendor’s own site rather than to us.

The short answer

What each actually costs

  Instant Puzzle Generator Book Bolt
Entry price$47 one-time (listed against a $97 regular price)Pro $19.99/mo billed annually, or $23.99 monthly
Year one$47, or $94 with the unlimited upgrade$239.88
Year three$47–$94, subject to the caveat below$719.64
Download limit200 per month on the entry tierNot stated as capped
Free tierNoNo — 3-day trial
Keyword researchNoYes — its main strength
Wrap cover with calculated spineNoCover tooling, but spine-from-page-count not stated

Sources, read 10 September 2026: instantpuzzlegenerator.io and its WarriorPlus checkout; bookbolt.io/pricing. Prices change — check before buying.

Three things to know about the $47 before you buy it

The one-time price is real — the checkout confirms there is no recurring billing on that purchase. But three details on the vendor’s own pages change what it means, and none of them are visible from the headline.

  1. “One-time” is time-limited by their own definition. The FAQ defines it as access “for as long as the app continues to exist,” with a stated commitment of a minimum of three years. The same page says: “we will be moving this into a subscription model soon.”
  2. The entry tier caps you at 200 downloads a month. Unlimited downloads — along with PowerPoint export and the full colour range — is a separate upgrade at another $47, doubling the real cost for anyone publishing at volume.
  3. Crosswords are a different product. The crossword generator from the same vendor is sold separately at $147, not included.

None of that makes it a bad buy at $47. It does mean the honest comparison is $94 against Book Bolt’s $239.88, not $47, if you intend to publish more than a couple of books a month.

The rights terms are unusually restrictive

Worth reading before you build a business on it. Instant Puzzle Generator’s licence permits selling finished books to end readers, but explicitly forbids several things publishers commonly do:

That last one catches people out. If your plan involves giving away a sample pack to build a mailing list, check the terms of whatever you use first. Ours are here, in plain English, for comparison.

What Book Bolt is actually for

Book Bolt is not primarily a puzzle tool, and judging it as one undersells it. Its centre of gravity is Amazon research: keyword and niche data, plus a template library spanning journals, planners and logbooks. Puzzle generation is included in both of its plans, but it is a feature rather than the point.

If you are trying to work out what to publish — which niches are crowded, what people actually search for on Amazon — that is the problem Book Bolt solves and neither of the other tools on this page attempts. If you already know what you are making, you are paying a research subscription to use a generator.

Its honest downsides: no free tier, a three-day trial, and access ends when the subscription does.

The thing neither of them does

Across every Instant Puzzle Generator page — the sales page, the upgrades, the membership site — there is no mention of spine width or wrap covers. Its cover offering is a paid add-on of 30 PowerPoint templates you edit by hand. Book Bolt has cover tooling, but does not state that spine width is derived from your interior page count.

This matters more than it sounds. A KDP wrap cover is one flat image: back, spine and front. The spine width depends on your page count and paper stock, so it changes every time the book does. Add two puzzles, and a cover built last week is now the wrong width — and Amazon rejects it with an error that points at the cover rather than at the interior that actually changed.

The related trap is the gutter. Amazon’s required inside margin steps up at 150, 300, 500 and 700 pages, so a book that crosses a boundary needs more inside margin than the one that passed review last month.

Where PuzzleBindery fits — and where it does not

Ours is $49 one-time during launch, $79 after, with no upgrade tier and no download cap. It generates nine puzzle types, assembles the complete interior with an automatic solutions section, and builds a wrap cover whose spine width reads the live page count, so the two cannot drift apart. The gutter is recomputed on every export against the tier table above.

The whole Studio is free to use indefinitely — every generator, the full book editor, the spine calculator. Only the clean, watermark-free interior export needs the licence, so you can check all of the above before paying anything.

Where we are the wrong choice: we do no keyword or niche research at all — if that is what you came for, buy Book Bolt. We do not cover journals or planners. And our nine puzzle types do not include Kakuro, Nurikabe or Hashi.

Build a whole book free and see the difference at the spine.

Open the Studio →

Already decided? Buy Pro — $49 once.

How to decide

  1. Do you need to know what to publish? Yes → Book Bolt, decision made.
  2. Will you publish more than a couple of books a month? Yes → budget $94 for Instant Puzzle Generator, not $47.
  3. Do you need more than word searches? Check which puzzle types each includes at your price point before buying.
  4. Do you want the cover and interior to stay in sync automatically? That is the specific thing we built, and it is free to verify.

Whichever way you go, make one complete book in a free or trial version and take it all the way to a KDP preview before paying. Every tool here produces something that looks fine on screen; the differences appear at the margins and the spine.

Every competitor fact on this page was read on the vendor’s own site on 10 September 2026 and re-checked before publishing. If anything here is out of date or wrong, email [email protected] and we will correct it. See also our fuller comparison of puzzle book software.

More: Full software comparison · Book Bolt alternative · Commercial licensing · Spine calculator · KDP specs · Open the Studio